RSS Feed

Sorting, stacking, selling.

Posted on

We are on the count down.

Just a couple of months left. I can’t quite believe it, I’m not sure how I can’t quite believe it – as our house resembles less of a home and more of a stock room these days. I seem to be making so many lists, researching so much, selling all of our extra ‘stuff’ (seriously – where does it all come from?). Thank goodness for freecycle and ebay!

We leave the UK on 5th April where we will fly to Singapore with Singapore Airlines for a little while, then we will land in Adelaide on 11th April, we have a short-term rental for a month when we get there – in which time we need to find a long-term rental , a car and a job for ‘S’. We aren’t taking a hugs amount with us, just our personal belongings and a couple of pieces of furniture, the rest we will have to purchase when we get there (thank heavens for Ikea!)

I’m currently putting the ‘goodbyes’ out of my mind, can’t bear to think about that bit, and evenings are mostly spent researching different areas to live and finding out so much useful advice and information on the pomsinadelaide forum. I honestly do not know how I would be doing this move without that forum – it has been such a huge wealth of information for us and complete strangers have even been so kind as to offer us a house-full of furniture and toys whilst we wait for our shipment to arrive (it will take 4 months for our things to arrive?!)

Anyway, here’s how corners of our home are looking at the moment, in just over 6 months time we should have a home somewhere that looks like a normal home, and not one with ‘stuff’ everywhere!

2 responses »

  1. Wow! I can honestly say that I think your so brave, taking such a leap of faith! Do you have family or friends in Oz? I think about the ideals of emigrating so often, yet thoughts of family and friends always pulls my mind back to the UK. I think you’re so strong and ambitious to be able to just go for it! I hope all goes well for you and your adventurous family 🙂

    Reply
    • Ahh thank-you Stella! I sometimes think it’s craziness rather than bravery!! No, we have no family there, we met a few people in Sydney as we worked there for 6 months a few years ago so it’s going to feel very lonely for a while! Thanks for taking the time to comment and for your very kind words xx

      Reply

Leave a comment