RSS Feed

Knitted hat complete and knitting for Aids orphans of South Africa

Posted on

I finished the hat made with the lovely wool from Six Skeins – it is the nicest wool I have ever worked with! I’m pleased with the hat, there is a slight mistake by the seam but overall it’s made me happy.

I have now knitted 2 x hats and one is too small for ‘T’ and this one is not really needed (she has 2 hats already – how many hats does a 2 year old really need?!). This week my husband was watching the BBC World News in the evening and my ears pricked up when I heard about the poor children in Afghanistan who were being supplied with hats by charity workers. Within seconds I was searching on Google and came accross many fab charities which provide for such terrible circumstances some of these children have to deal with. I’m not sure how or why I decided on this particular charity, probably because they accept hats, jumpers, knitted squares and all sorts of other knitted goods to go to their children, but Knit A Square provides knitted goods for the Aids orphans of South Africa:

I already had a little stash of crochet squares (given to me along with the wool from freecycle), the hats and a few other bits and now I’m knitting furiously to see how much of the left-over wool that I have will make of a blanket for one super grateful little person.

If you fancy joining in, or know a school, work-place or group that could get involved then please have a look here for more information.

Even if you have never knitted before, knitting a simple 20cm square is not that hard (I’ve only recently learned and there are so many tutorials on youtube to help you)

(taking part in this week’s Handmade Monday from 1st Unique Gifts x)

14 responses »

  1. Your knitting is really coming along, well done – I hope that doesn’t sound patronising, it wasn’t meant to. Have a lovely week.

    Reply
  2. It’s fantastic that you are helping to promote such a good cause ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  3. I have never tried to knit but after seeing this it seems a good time to start! I love the colours in the photo’s X

    Reply
  4. What a lovely thing to do, those children look so adorable. I bet they love their multi coloured blankets and hats.

    Reply
  5. What a good cause – am going to have a look at the link. I haven’t knitted for ages but could rustle up a little hat of a few squares. Mich ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  6. What a brilliant cause to become involved in. I love the pictures of the children looking cosy and colourful in their new hats and blankets.

    Reply
  7. Your knitting is lovely and the cause you are supporting is a good one. Hope you have a good week.

    Reply
  8. I love that hat, the colours remind me of tutti fruiti sweets! What a brilliant thing to get involved with. I can’t crochet and I can’t make much but I can manage a simple knit stitch so i’ll definately have a look into this and see if I can help a little bit, the kids look so bright and colourful. x

    Reply
  9. What a good idea, I have a stash of wool and squares would be ideal as don;t have to think what I am doing. Thank you for the link

    Reply
  10. What a fantastic project. I will definitely keep this in mind. One of my goals this year is to ‘give’ to charity every month – money, time etc. This would be perfect!

    Reply
  11. This is a great charity and one I’ve sent squares off to. My children still have the blankets their Nan made for them and they still love them.

    Jan x

    Reply
  12. The colours are so vibrant in these photos and what a fantastic way of making a difference.

    Reply
  13. It’s always wonderful to do for others, good on ya!
    And i love the little hat. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  14. Beautiful photos you collected together there. I’m wondering whether I can persuade MIL to knit for you. She doesn’t knit anymore as she doesn’t have a project to knit for.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

