RSS Feed

Recipe: Sausage and bean casserole with easy cheesy croutons

Posted on

This is a great Winter warmer and can be cooked in advance and frozen. It’s pretty tasty too!

Serves 4-6

Ingredients:

1 x pack good quality sausages, cut into 4/5 pieces per sausage

3-4 average sized potatoes, peeled and cut into similar sizes as the sausage pieces

1 x large onion, roughly chopped

2 x cloves of garlic, finely chopped

1 x tin chopped tomatoes

1 x tin baked beans

1 x tablespoon gravy granules

2 x tablespoons hickory smoked BBQ sauce (or equivelant)

Salt & pepper to season

1 x teaspoon smoked paprika

1 x cheese topped roll per person

Butter

Olive oil

Method:

Add the sausages and onion to a pan containing hot olive oil and fry until sausages are almost cooked. Add in the potatoes and cook for a few minutes before adding in the garlic, beans, chopped tomatoes, gravy granules, salt and pepper, paprika, BBQ sauce and simmer for 25 mins (or until potatoes are softened). Add more gravy granules to thicken if required.

I’ve been lacking a bit on the crafty front – there seems to have been too many other (boring!) things in the way to do – hopefully this week will bring me more time to just. slow. down.! Head over to Handmade Monday for a new start to the year with other crafty people and remember to take a peek at all fo the lovely things they have been busy making!

Oh and how did I forget?! Have you entered the FANTASTIC giveaway I’m hosting? The chance to win some fantastic books (of your choice) from Pomadour24s Etsy store – have a look!

13 responses »

  1. I bet this would be good with Veggie sausages too!!! 🙂

    Reply
  2. I will give this a go when I’ve finished my diet 🙂 x

    Reply
  3. Looks delicious, just right for winter!

    Reply
  4. Happy New Year. A great recipe – my mouther is watering reading it. Must give it a go

    Reply
  5. I have just finished my supper and you have succeeded in making me feel hungry again… Grrr! This will go onto my list to make 🙂

    Reply
  6. That sounds so yummy, perfect for this rainy weather we’ve been having 🙂

    Kim xx

    Reply
  7. You have done the impossible….made baked beans look tasty!!! Definitely one to try, my other half loves his croutons! xx

    Reply
  8. A definite winter warmer, it looks delicious. x

    Reply
  9. Looks yummy – definitely one for a cold winter’s day

    Reply
  10. Hmmm yummyyyyy – looks very tasty

    Reply
  11. OOOO smoked paprika, this has GOT to be good! 🙂 I didn’t know what gravy granules were, but I looked them up and see that there is a gluten free version! 🙂

    Reply
  12. Sounds yummy, looks yummy too. A great idea to freeze them too, I usually freeze things in either individual portions or enough for 2. 🙂

    Jan x

    Reply
  13. This looks so lovely on a grey cloudy day. Yum!
    Jo x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

