RSS Feed

Felt fruit and veg & Waldorf doll swap

Posted on

When ‘T’ was just a few months old my friend showed me this absolutely stunning Japanese craft book of Felt fruit and veg – I thought they were adorable so made a few for little ‘T’ to play with. She has had hours of fun with them and the best bit is that I can make as many or as little as I like.

I noticed that someone ‘liked’ one of them in my Etsy store and noticed that this person made Waldorf dolls (something that I have been looking to buy soon for T’s Birthday in March). He dolls are stunning (photos and facebook page here) so I sent her a message letting her know how much I liked them. From that message a conversation started and we have since decided to to a swap – I’m going to make a bundle of felt fruit and veg in return for a beautiful custom made doll! How fab is that!

It’s great to ‘trade’ our skills in this way and it feels nice to be making a bundle of toys for some children to open on Christmas Day. I cannot wait to receive the doll in a few months time either!

Remember to head over to 1st Unique Gifts to catch up with some other crafty bloggers!

Right – enough time on here – I’ve got some sewing to do!

48 responses »

  1. yay yay! This is so exciting 🙂 I am so happy that we can do this together. I LOVE your work and I am so happy that my kids will have such gorgeous handmade toys in their stockings this Christmas. I am really looking forward to making T’s doll with you too, there are so many lovely things you can choose to make this doll completely unique and very specially just for T. Hugs to you Tori, love Laura x

    Reply
  2. What a lovely idea and a stunning make, a real family keepsake!

    Reply
  3. Lovely idea to swap, the fruit and veg look good enough to eat

    Reply
  4. I think that is really great and a very fair swap. My fave is the sweet corn, it looks fabulous 🙂

    Reply
  5. Wow, it IS nice to be able to trade skills like that. I hope you will share a photo with use when the doll becomes a member of your family. 🙂 Love that felt fruit and vegetables. They are just awesome.

    Reply
  6. It is great to be able to swap things like that. Loving the fruit & vegetables 🙂

    Reply
  7. These are fab! I’d love to be able to make something like this! Love that you get to swap crafts too :o) x

    Reply
  8. The fruit and veg are lovely. Great idea to do a swap I’m sure the children will love their handmade pressies.

    Reply
  9. Fantastic veg and fruit! truly appealing and great fun! eyecatching, definitely!

    Reply
  10. At first glance i thought it was a box of real fruit and veg, that’s how brilliant they look! Fab work and what a brilliant swap for you to participate in.

    Reply
  11. The fruit and veg looks great and what a great idea to do a swap, both of you get what you want and both of you get a gift thats been handmade with great care and attention. Everyone wins. x

    Reply
  12. These are awesome what a fabulous idea, you may have just inspired me to make something similar myself so thank you for that 🙂 Congratulations on such a lovely little make! X

    Reply
  13. Well done on the trade. The fruit is brilliant, love it!

    Reply
  14. They are so lovely – such a nice idea to do a swap.

    Reply
  15. Wow, the fruit looks amazing!
    I especially like the slice of melon – really beautiful 🙂

    Reply
  16. Lovely makes – so many tiny stitches. My niece has knitted fruit and veg and loves playing shops with them

    Reply
  17. Oh they are so fantastic. Please can you tell me where you get the patterns from as I’d love to make some of these.

    Reply
  18. It’s lovely, I love all the beautiful little stitches! Is it silly that I REALLY love that fried egg!!!

    Reply
  19. These are wonderful – beautiful stitching! I’m off to find out what a Waldorf doll is.
    Jo x

    Reply
  20. Loving those fruits – they do look good enough to eat. Great idea to swap too 🙂

    Alison

    Reply
  21. Brilliant fruit, it all looks so colourful and tasty, the dolls are beautiful too, a swap is such a good idea.

    Jan x

    Reply
  22. The fruit looks amazing and what a great trade idea too. Can’t wait to see your doll. Hugs Mrs A.

    Reply
  23. Great felted fruit/veg … took a peek at your Etsy shop and love the variety of products you sell.

    Reply
  24. how gorgeous are these! coming over from mamauk and enjoying your blog.keep up the good work.

    Reply
  25. Pingback: Pumpkin and pepper « Madewithloveuk's Blog

Leave a Reply

