RSS Feed

Green tomato and mixed veg soup (on a budget)

Posted on

What to do with all of these tomatoes that won’ t turn red? I’ve looked on the internet for some inspiration though I’m not the biggest fan of chutney and wanted to do something with the ingredients that I already had so I made a really tasty soup, I find soup a great way to use up leftovers and it’s great for freezing for mid-week lunches for ‘T’ and I with some home made bread. The courgetter used was grown by my husband’s colleague, the tomatoes from our garden and the chicken stock was in the freezer from a roast that I made a couple of weeks ago.

Ingredients:

4 x large carrots

1 x chopped capsicum pepper (I used a red one)

4 x cup fulls of tomatoes (red, green and inbetween!)

1 x large courgette

1 x large baking potato

2 x sticks celery

1 x red onion

enough water/stock to cover all ingredients

seasoning & mixed herbs.

knob of butter

Method:

Add the chopped onion to a pan containint melted butter, cook until softened then add the rest of the vegetables and cook for a few minutes. Cover with stock and bubble away until all veg is tender and blitz with a blender.

3 responses »

  1. Yum, was it tasty??? I like the bottom pic! 🙂
    xxx

    Reply
  2. It was tasty! We have been given a home-grown orange courgette and I’m torn for ideas as to how to cook it (it’s HUGE!)

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Frugal Food 3 | Soup « Mike10613's Blog

Leave a Reply

